Saran with a Van

Come and ride with me…

Camlin and Hero Fountain Pen…

Last year I thought of buying a new fountain pen coz my handwriting was going haywire with the ballpoint pens :)

As soon as I decided to buy a fountain pen, went to the nearby shop and bought a new Parker Fountain Pen (200 INR). After buying the pen came home and started using the pen and had a huge sign of relief.

After few months I was still using the fountain pen and suddenly I remembered the childhood days when I used to ask my dad for money (10 – 20 INR) to get a new fountain pen as my current pen got old, leaking, problem with nib, and so on.

I was able to relate the feeling of using the new pen with the childhood days, well the feeling still remains the same just that the years have changed and of course the affording capability too :)

We can still buy the 15-20 INR Camlin pen, but then NO!, we always wanted a branded one, unique, different from others, blah blah…and hence we go for a costlier one ;)

Last week I got another Parker Pen for 350 INR coz my other Parker pen was broken and this time I wanted to go for a costlier one, coz of a very simple reason that I can afford for it now.

After coming home I started using the pen and again I remembered about my childhood days. During those days the costliest pen for us was Hero Pen (35 INR), that must be more than 10 years from now.

As I said earlier the feeling of using a new pen (any new thing for that matter) remains the same, except the fact that we have grown older (wiser???) and we can afford for these items.

Do share your experiences also… :)

August 29, 2007 - Posted by | Pers Exp

2 Comments »

  1. I miss my hero pen soo much . Now I am in london ,I can not find one anywhere..

    Comment by shashank | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey,

    This is such a long lost memory. I mean kids nowadays have so many options. There are ball pens, gel pens, pens with different nip sizes, and many more. I remember the days when we buying a fountain pen was a big activity.

    The beautiful ink-filling mechanism of the that pen. It used to be like an invention for me, compared to all the japanese technology influenced pens.

    It is really nice to recollect those memories. Thanks Saravan.

    ~Shweta

    Comment by Shweta | December 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

